Xbox One Elite: cool product, questionable support

I recently purchased an Xbox One Elite bundle as I wanted to plunge into a nice, premium controller.

My experience with the controller has had mixed emotions.

On the one hand, I like the features. Programming the buttons and paddles, adjusting the center LED brightness, saving 2 profiles—it’s all so cool!

On the other hand, I experienced a defective left-bottom paddle (P4) that was loose for some unknown reason. When I went to get it replaced under warranty within a couple of days of purchasing the bundle, Microsoft Xbox Support charged me to replace them. I didn’t understand it initially, but I later found out that the paddles are not covered by the warranty and neither are they covered for defective craftsmanship out of the box, which I found to be disconcerting. By the way, with tax they come out to $16.28 to replace.

I also had an issue where my new Xbox One Elite console was not working correctly with my Day One Edition Kinect Sensor. I would say, “Xbox, watch beINSport”, and it would pull up VH1 instead and, sometimes, it would then automatically switch from VH1 to NBC. Bizarre behavior. However, if I reconnected the sensor to my Day One Edition Xbox One, it worked perfectly.

As a result, I exchanged my Xbox One Elite bundle at my point of sale. I will have to wait to get a new Kinect sensor and test it out with this Elite. However, much to my surprise, my new Elite controller has a defect out of the box—the right joy stick clicks upon rotation! I just cannot believe it!

So, I like the features, but I’m upset with the policies and support.

How can a premium product such as the Xbox One Elite controller not be flawless upon unboxing?

How can a premium product also not be fully covered from top to bottom under the one year limited warranty (barring accidental damage of course)?

This experience has left a bitter taste in my mouth. I trusted Xbox, and they let me down in material craftsmanship, quality control, and questionable support.

If you are in the market for a nice, premium controller, you may want to look elsewhere. I hear quality support is hard to come by with third-parties, but maybe the quality craftsmanship is better with a Scuf Infinity1 or something else.

