The Day I X’d Comcast: Hopping on over to Dish Network

Comcast, namely Xfinity and its Xfinity TV, sucks. It is expensive, and I don’t even get what I want out of my entertainment through its services.

Today, I have ended my consumer relationship with Comcast for it’s TV services and started a new one with Dish Network.

Here’s why:

The Hopper with Sling is an awesome experience. It boasts 2TB storage space, contra. the Xfinity X1 with a maximum 500GB. It also boasts the automatic commercial skipper (for select shows, and only after 11pm the day the show airs), also contra. the X1, whichhas nothing like it. The Hopper can record 6 shows simultaneously whilst the X1 can only record up to 4. Plus, the Hopper can sling contents to an iPad, iPod Touch, or iPhone to watch recordings on the go. The X1 doesn’t exactly have that ability.

But the Hopper with Sling is not the only reason to leave Comcast. I have bemoaned on multiple occasions how unsatisfied I am with Xfinity Sports’ HD coverage for soccer, namely with beINSport. Furthermore, for whatever reason, Comcast cannot come to an agreement with beINSport to permit their customers to participate in beINSport Play, which adds the ability to watch more soccer games online than are aired on their channel. Dish not only offers beINSport in HD, but it also offers Play.

And for close to the same cost as my Xfinity Triple Play that merely provides a TV digital starter bundle with additional sports package, which does not include Fox Sports 2, I will get all of the sports channels that I desire plus a ton of channels for my wife and son that we don’t already have through Comcast. That’s right: for our tastes, Dish provides more channels for less money.

To make it work, I am canceling my Triple Play and retaining only the broadband Internet connection. I will no longer have a home phone. I do have a cell phone, so I have given up a home phone number. But this is an AT&T cell phone, and as I do have a MyCell, I can add on unlimited MyCell minutes for less than the cost of my home phone. Not only will I have the same end goal–a working phone number with unlimited minutes at home–but I will cut out all of the pesky, irritating telemarketers.

All things considered, it’s a no-brainer: Dish is superior. Good luck, Comcast!

[EDIT] So, I see that Dish doesn’t show “HD” for beINSport. However, the feed is definitely HD; I wonder if Dish doesn’t mark it as HD because they aren’t using an SD broadcast at all. Either way, the video quality of the broadcast of beINSport on Dish is superior to Comcast’s. [/EDIT]

