Love Me Some Track Jackets

I love track jackets. My first one was an Adidas kit back from my freshman year of high school. I don’t remember its name, but it may have been part of the first Predator lineup. In any case, I was hooked. I ordered it too large for me, but I loved it. I got a Nike one my sophomore year; and I got another Adidas one somewhere in that high school timeline. I became a collector. In college, the soccer team got track jackets on loan, and I loved that one, too. I bought one from American Eagle even.

Regrettably, I went through a fashion phase in which I got rid of everything that was Medium or larger, since I was actually a size Small. So much for my collection.

Once 2010 World Cup hit and I was by that time a fresh soccer consumer, I began rebuilding my collection. First, it was the 2010 Italy track jacket, size Small. It fit me perfectly. Second, it was the 2010 England track jacket, size Small. It didn’t fit, and I had to exchange it for Medium. Puma and Adidas Smalls are great; Nike and Umbro require Mediums for me. I have yet to obtain a Germany jacket, since none of them really appealed to me, but there is one currently that is pretty nicely clad in green; however, I’m in no hurry to obtain one, since I am not a big fan of national team soccer in the same way that I am for club soccer. And why would I rush to get national gear when I could be building my collection for those teams that I hold near and dear to my heart?

I switched gears in my collection with this intention, adding first to my possession Inter’s 2011-2012 white track jacket, available exclusively from the Inter Shop in Italy (sorry, Soccer.com). I got it in Medium as it is a Nike piece. It’s a little loose, but I’ll be the first to recognize that I am no longer a size Small. Hey, I’m getting older, what can I say?

Next up in my collection will soon be the 2011-2012 (and apparently 2013) Chelsea Anthem track jacket, which I purchased in Medium from Soccer.com. Now all that is left is to get one for Real Madrid. Currently, they only sell their 2011-2012 Anthem track jacket, but they debuted the first leg of the Spanish Supercup in blue stripes rather than gold, and that is the one I want.

After that, I won’t be collecting any more track jackets for a while. Well, maybe a Germany one come next World Cup in 2014. We’ll see.

Until then, I’ll want to complete my club scarf collection and begin a club soccer socks collection. I’m a devoted fan, so sue me.

