Suspended?

I found my blog suspended yesterday evening. I know—surprising.

It said that WordPress.com believes I have violated their terms and conditions (T&C).

Well, the T&C talks about not using ads, scams, links to such things, bots, automated or repetitive data, or copyrighted material. I don’t use or have any of that on my blog. I make no money off of this blog. So, I sent them an email with the link provided, saying such, and I tweeted them:

I didn’t get a response. Instead, the next morning, I found that my blog’s original state was restored.

Do you see the irony here? No bots may be used to create blog content, but WordPress.com might, I don’t know, use bots to scan a blog and shut it down. But I digress.

I would have liked an explanation, so that I could avoid this from happening in the future with respect to the T&C, but alas I was not provided one. That’s okay. I’m fine now. Apparently the people, not the bots, if any, at WordPress.com agreed with me that I am not in violation, so I am undeserving of suspension.

If you find that you have been suspended, email WordPress.com with the provided link right away. It only took them about 12 hours or so to resolve my situation, so a speedy email is crucial.

I’m sorry this happened, but I’m glad WordPress.com acted on it promptly to consider my appeal and remedy the situation.

[EDIT 8/24/12 10:30am PDT] I just found this email in my junk box:

Hi there,

Thank you for getting in touch.

Your site was flagged by our automated anti-spam controls. We have reviewed your site and have removed the suspension notice.

We greatly apologize for this error and any inconvenience it may have caused.

It’s nice to know that they did email me a response. [/EDIT]

2 thoughts on “Suspended?

Comments are closed.