Why I’m Looking Forward to Halo 4

Halo 4 Halo Official Site

Halo 4 Halo Official Site

Halo 4 is due out this fall, and it is the start of a new Halo trilogy. This game and its trilogy is something that I am desperately looking forward to.

I started playing Halo: CE in college. It was a delight, especially playing snipers with a roommate or two. Then Halo 2 came out, and I was introduced to Xbox Live. I spent a lot of time playing Team Snipers in Halo 2. Halo 3 came out, and it was a bit disappointing by comparison to Halo 2, but it was still a lot of fun. Halo: Reach came out, and it was fun, but it just wasn’t as enjoyable anymore. I had lost interest. I turned to Call of Duty, which promised a much more realistic experience that was very enjoyable.

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (COD4) was a lot of fun. I came to it late in the game, but what I did play was fun. Shortly after getting into COD4, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 (MW2) released. It was by far the best game I had ever played for first person shooters. The sniping experience was unparalleled. Call of Duty: Black Ops later released, and I hated it. The sniping experience was severely hindered by the so-called “features” in Black Ops. I anxiously awaited Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (MW3), which came out in the Fall of 2011. I have played the multiplayer for a considerable amount of time now, and I have to say, it still pales in comparison to MW2, because it shares a lot of the “features” from Black Ops. It’s just not that fun anymore.

Now, I believe Halo 4 will spark my interest, because it is something fresh. Halo 3: ODST was interesting, but who wants to be a weaker ODST instead of the stronger Spartan? Halo: Reach was interesting, but we already knew the outcome. Halo 4 will provide a fresh story, scintillating graphics, and cutting edge game play. I think that the Halo franchise is altogether a better story than the Modern Warfare series, which is part of the reason for my longing of its release. But I am lashing out against MW3 for its Black Ops “features,” which has in essence ruined the sniping experience for me.

In the mean time, I guess I will have to play Halo: Reach to get back into the Halo swing of things, while still playing the new maps of MW3. Speaking of which, I need to get Call of Duty: Elite to save some money on those maps!

