Theology of Prayer: Scriptural Support (Part 20: John)

Ask. John 14. “And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.” Remain and ask. John 15. “If you remain in me and my words remain in your, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.” Furthermore, “You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit–fruit that will last–and so that whatever you ask in my name the Father will give you.” Here we see that prayer is a request. We also see that requests must be linked with right action.

Jesus’ lengthy prayer. John 17. Prayer for his glorification. “Glorify your Son, that your Son may glorify you.” Prayer for his disciples. “Holy Father, protect them by the power of your name, the name you gave me, so that they may be one as we are one.” And, “My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one. They are not of the world, even as I am not of it. Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth.” Prayer for all believers. “My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.” After finishing this prayer, Judas, some Roman soldiers, and a few Jewish leaders arrested Jesus. Jesus prays first for himself, then for his disciples, and then for everyone else who would believe as a result of their work. Jesus prays for their unity, that the unbelieving world might see that through them God has loved the world. These are all requests, and we can pray for ourselves, for our believing brothers and sisters, and for the unbelieving world. Yet, this prayer also makes many declarations about God, Jesus, and the world. It is a lengthy blend of declaration and request.

