Transformers: Dark of the Moon

iTunes Store – Transformers: Dark of the Moon

I just watched Transformers 3 for the first time. I know, I’m late to the dinner table. First impressions: it was okay. The first film was the best. The second one was good. This last one was just so so. The first one was great. I know there are people out there who disagree with me, and that’s okay.

Ramblings

I liked the action in this movie, just like I did in the previous films. I could have had more comic relief from the parents and more comic relief in general. I could have had a stronger bond between Sam and Carly. The story didn’t draw me in as much as I would have liked. All in all, it was entertaining. The battle of the primes was good in the end, that is until, in typical Optimus style, he gets torn to shreds but somehow manages to overcome the odds. In fact, the battle was awesome until he loses his arm, Megatron steps in and easily renders Sentinel harmless, and then Optimus–the one armed robot–single-handedly rips Megatron apart. Really? Come on! Rubbish. Makes me mad. In any case, the climax was not as climactic as I would have liked. In the first film, which had the best climax of them all, Megatron gets the All Spark thrust into his chest spark, rendering him lifeless and the threat of world domination disposed. In the second, The Fallen is beheaded, disarming the threat of utter world annihilation. In the third, the bridge is destroyed, preventing the ruined Cybertron from colliding (?) with Earth. It didn’t really make much sense. Was it going to collide? Or just exist like a second world adjacent to our planet? If we were to be slaves, how would we live in Cybertron? I can see that Megatron would want to dominate the world. I can see that The Fallen would want to annihilate the world. But I fail to see how Sentinel and Megatron would want to bring Cybertron to Earth. I just don’t get it. I’m open to explanations. Maybe the climax was the destruction of both Megatron and Sentinel. Okay, fine. But due to the one-armed madness of it all, the climax was greatly cheapened. I’m still not impressed.

Am I not entertained? Visually, it was stunning. Love the cars. Can’t get enough combat. I was entertained nevertheless, and the movie was worth a rental. I should buy it, however, to complete the trilogy for posterity’s sake of course.

