Best Metal Album of 2011

A lot of music was released this year–13 albums to be precise. Which one is my favorite?

I hate being a Debbie Downer, but Bizarro World is definitely not my favorite. It’s the worst. Don’t buy it. Unto the Locust is a step above Bizarro World, but it isn’t all that great in comparison to the others. Decas doesn’t count, because it only has 5 original songs and the rest are electronica remakes. Sounds of a Playground Fading was decent, but it lacked a certain flair and panache from In Flames. Echoes of the Fallen likewise was good, but largely forgettable too. Same with Threat Signal. Okay, so I’ve narrowed it down to half. Now what?

Of the remaining albums, I am torn between two. But first, I want to point out a few things about the others. American Capitalist is really good. The lyrics are clever and catchy. It continues the same grungy style as its predecessors. It is indeed a solid album. Buy it. Dead Throne and Children of Fire are both really good. Buy them too. In fact, Children of Fire was number one in iTunes for a long time. Leveler was really good, and it has some really cool latin and jazz influences. Dead New World was good. In Waves was exceptionally good. In fact, it rivals with the top two.

Hymn of a Broken Man and Darkness in the Light are my two favorites. But the former takes the cake. It is well written lyrically as well as musically. It satisfies the metal in me and the spirit within. It came out in the beginning of the year, and it was a delight all year round.

Which one was your favorite? Was there different metal album that you favored this year? Tell me in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Best Metal Album of 2011

Comments are closed.