Watchmen

Finally saw the Watchmen. First time I tried watching it at the drive-in theaters, the film burned up half way through. It was on TNT recently, so I recorded it and watched across a couple of discontinuous nights.

My favorite character is Rorschach. Best line out of the whole movie comes while he is in prison, he just finished defending himself from some inmates, and the guards begin to overtake him. He says something like this: “You just don’t get it, do you? I’m not locked in here with you. You’re locked in here with me!”

I felt the movie was bleak and depressing. I don’t know what people saw in the movie. Knowing nothing of the DC graphic novel, I just didn’t feel connected with the story. I’m not a fan of the 300-style of cinematography, but some fights were cool.

I’m glad I watched it, but it isn’t a movie to which I will return. Give me Christian Bale as Batman instead.

