Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (Original Score)

iTunes – Music – Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 by Brian Tyler.

Brian Tyler has created a fitting score for the latest Call of Duty game, Modern Warfare 3. It bears emotion, it is dynamic, and is rather entertaining.

Two songs are particularly popular on the iTunes Store right now: Call of Duty: MW3 and Battle for New York.

Which one is your favorite?

First Impressions of MW3

I was fortunate enough to obtain Modern Warfare 3 (MW3) yesterday on its release date. I was able to play it last night with my buddy, Erik. Based on the 1.5 hours of game play, MW3 feels like, in Erik’s description, which I think is aptly put, one part Modern Warfare 2 (MW2) and one part Black Ops. I don’t like Black Ops, so I am not necessarily happy about this blend. Based on cursory play, I am frustrated with it. Maybe that’s because I can’t do snipers or hardcore at this time, which is my favorite weapon and game type. It is going to take getting used to as some of the physics have changed from MW2, but I can say I am happy with it as it is new and carries on the style from MW2. I could not stand the weapons set from Black Ops, and I have a better appreciation for the weapons in MW2. I especially like the concept of weapons customization independent of perks. So far, per Erik’s suggestion, I have used the team-centered support package instead of killstreaks, because, I admit, I am terrible in Team Deathmatch, and I don’t get but a handful of kills and at least a score of deaths. It is nice being able to help the team with a support package, since the kill count doesn’t reset upon death.

What about you? Have you obtained or played MW3? How do you like it?

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

I have now finished the third book of The Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Return of the King. I read this book much faster than the first two books in the series, though I did not read it faster than I did The Hobbit. It still had its boring parts in typical Tolkien LOTR style. There were parts that I appreciated. But, by comparison, I like the movie more.

The movie cuts out the hogwash after the destruction of the ring, which is the climax of the whole series. Why spend 100 pages after the ring’s destruction telling of how the Shire was corrupted by Saruman or how the likes of Frodo, Sam, Merry, and Pippin had to purge said corruption? The resolution came so slowly that it took away from the destruction of the ring. The Shire’s corruption seemed so trivial and unnecessary. Even Saruman’s death was silly. He tried to stab Frodo but could not break the armor of the hobbit. Yet, Frodo spared his life, though Wormtongue did not. I liked it better in the movie where Saruman was locked up in the tower devoid of power and mischief. And what of Faramir and Eowyn? I found their brief and sudden romance out of place–forced, even. I am happy this romance was left out of the movie.

Some features of the book were good, and I do wish they were in the movie. When the Captains of Gondor confront Sauron at the Black Gate, the book has a creature ride out to meet them, the Mouth of Sauron. By description, he is very cool looking, and by the conversation he has with Gandalf, the scene is intriguing. Samwise was not so hardened against the orcs in the tower that held Frodo, which makes sense–he is a hobbit, not a warrior! The movie gave him more courage than he could have, but even in the book he does save Frodo. The book doesn’t have the watchful eye scouring Mordor for the likes of Frodo and Sam. I felt that part of the movie was silly, and appreciate that it was not part of the book.

Most importantly, I appreciate that the book didn’t have Frodo waking up in Rivendell, frolicking and laughing senselessly with Gandalf, Merry, and Pippin, the last two of which on his bed like little children, and Sam later coming into the room. No, the book made better sense. Frodo woke up with Sam next to him, and Gandalf was present, and there was no senseless laughing. That whole scene was the most lame portion of the trilogy in the movies, but it was done correctly in the book.

I am glad to be done with the trilogy. They were too boring. They were filled with superfluous description of surroundings and climates, yet they lacked sufficient description of the battles. I will gladly watch the movies multiple times throughout my life, but the books will collect dust on the shelves until my son might decide he wants to read them.