Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

I have now finished the second book, The Two Towers, of the trilogy, The Lord of the Rings. Just as I felt with the previous book, the movie was far better. However, I felt that the book’s latter half was indeed superior to the movie (and by this I mean both the movies, The Two Towers and part of The Return of the King). The encounter with Faramir was much cleaner throughout in the book. The movie made it seem awkward. The encounter with Shelob was much better in the book. The latter half was very pleasant, and I do wish the movie had followed it more closely. But the former half was dull. The movie did it right. The battle at Helm’s Deep was boring. The trip to Helm’s Deep was lacking and unimaginative. My favorite scene of the movie, when Gandalf reveals himself as the White to Theodin, is brilliant in film and lackluster in writing. The book has no crescendo as is found in the movie; instead, Gandalf confronts the king and bids him to let go of an evil-bearing scepter. The king does as Gandalf suggests, and slowly begins to gain vitality. I much prefer the former half of the movie and the latter half of the book. If I had to choose between the two, I would choose the movie.

