Psalm 119:81-88

These verses all start with kaf (כ).

My soul languishes for your salvation
I wait for your word.

My eyes languish for your word
I ask, “When will you comfort me?”

For I have become a leather flue in smoke
I have not forgotten your statutes.

How many are the days of your servant?
When will you carry out judgment on those who pursue me?

The proud have dug pits for me
Which are not according to your law.

All your commandments are faithfulness
They pursue me falsely; help me!

For they nearly destroyed me in the land
But I did not forsake your precepts.

Let me live according to your love
In order that I may keep the decrees of your mouth.

Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring

Originally published Nov 28, 2009, on Facebook.

I finally finished J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring. I feel that this book is boring, and I am surprised that the movie was far more enjoyable than the book.

The last 150 pages pick up fairly well and it became much easier to read. It’s unfortunate that he spent more time fleshing out the details prior to Rivendell. In fact, prior to the Prancing Pony, the book is rather forgettable.

The movie proved to be much more entertaining and enjoyable. It contains a love story that is not in the book. The book only mentions in passing a relationship of a sort between Aragorn and Arwyn. The movie has made it explicit. The movie also rearranged many parts of the book and removed much of the boring parts. The section regarding Tom Bombadil, for example, is very boring, but it is not in the movie. The movie also added the fight scene at the end; it is not in the book. The movie has an unparalleled level of suspense, and draws the viewer in far better than the book consequently.

But the book was still worthwhile. It was nice to get to the original story.

I hope the next book will keep in step with the last 150 pages of Fellowship.