Psalm 119:57-64

In these 8 verses, every verse starts with the letter chet (ח, pronounced as in “Bach“).

The Lord is my portion; I promise to keep your words.

I appease your face with all my heart
Be generous according to your word.

I considered my ways
and I brought my feet back to your decrees.

I hurried and did not hesitate
to keep your commandments.

The chords of the wicked surrounded me
I did not forget your laws.

At midnight I rise to praise you
for your righteous judgments.

I am a friend to all who fear you
and who keep your precepts.

Your love, oh Lord, filled the earth; teach me your statutes.

2 thoughts on “Psalm 119:57-64

  1. Hey-oh! What exactly is the significance of the letter chet? I’m not up to date on my Hebrew, so I’m not sure if chet is just a letter or has some greater meaning. I would assume it’s of some importance since you mentioned it, and that it starts each verse, but you fail to explain how this adds to the overall message of these 8 verses?

  2. It doesnt add to the meaning. Ps 119 is an Hebrew acrostic poem, devoting 8 veres to each letter of the Hebrew alphabet. This post covers those verses that start with chet. See the initial post in this series.

Comments are closed.