Psalm 119:1-8

In an effort to keep up on my Hebrew, I am starting a series in which I will be translating Psalm 119.

For those not knowing Hebrew, the first 8 verses all start with aleph, א, as Ps 119 is an acrostic poem that gives 8 verses starting with the respective letter of the Hebrew alphabet. Aleph is the first letter of the Hebrew alphabet. I will subsequently report the letter of the alphabet that starts each verse when going through this series. In total, there are 176 verses in Ps 119, which gives 8 verses for each of the 22 letters in the Hebrew alphabet.

For those knowing or learning Hebrew, I challenge you to converse with me regarding my translations.

Happy are those whose way is blameless
those who walk in the laws of the Lord.

Happy are those who keep his laws
those who seek him with all their heart.

Indeed, they do not do injustice
they walk in his ways.

You commanded your regulations for the purpose of keeping them exceedingly.

Oh that my way will be established for keeping your statutes!

Then I will not be ashamed
when I look at all your commandments.

I will praise you with an upright heart
when I learn your righteous judgments.

I will keep your statutes
do not even forsake me at all.

