Ephesians Sentence by Sentence: Introduction

I am going to do a series in which I walk through Ephesians sentence by sentence. I am not going verse by verse, because verses are sometimes fragmented sentences and therefore not entirely complete. I would rather look at whole sentences if I am going to study it, so that I can get more of a complete thought.

This study is going to be working out of Nesle Aland’s 27th edition of Novum Testamentum Graece. That’s correct—I will be translating Ephesians from the Greek New Testament sentence by sentence, and to the best of my abilities, I will discuss all relevant textual-critical and translational issues alongside grammatical-syntactical analysis with relevant application.

I will give the Greek text first, and I will give my translation second. Then, I will work through the grammar and syntax, and when necessary I will also work through some textual criticism. Finally, I will tie the entire discussion into a short devotion.

I hope that this practice will be a good learning experience for me and also for you. Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Ephesians Sentence by Sentence: Introduction

  1. I intend, when I am done translating the whole of Ephesians one sentence at a time, to put my translations into one amalgamated whole. After all, Ephesians was originally a letter that was not broken down into chapters and verses. Why not put it back in the way it was delivered, except in english? :-)

  2. After providing an amalgamated translation, I think the next step will be to do a rhetorical analysis of the letter, which will be a separate series. However, I’ll link the two together by putting a simple “Ephesians” label on both series in addition to adding the rhetorical analysis as a blog series in the right-hand sidebar.

Comments are closed.